Joe DiMaggio’s 56-game hitting streak ends in Cleveland.

July 17

1939 – Henry Picard beats Byron Nelson 1-up in 37 holes to win the PGA Championship.

1941 – Joe DiMaggio’s 56-game hitting streak is stopped by the Indians’ Al Smith and Jim Bagby before 67,000 in Cleveland.

1955 – Beverly Hanson defeats Louise Suggs by three strokes in the playoffs to win the first LPGA championship.

1966 – Jim Ryun becomes the first American to hold the mile record since 1937. With a time of 3:51.3 in Berkeley, California, Ryun breaks Michel Jazy’s mark of 3:53.6 by 2.3 seconds .

1974 – Bob Gibson knocks out Cesar Geronimo of the Reds in the second inning to become the second pitcher in major league history to record 3,000 strikeouts.

1979 – Sebastian Coe breaks the world mile record with a time of 3:48.95 in Oslo, Norway. The time is rounded to 3:49.

1983 – Bobby Hebert passes for 314 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Michigan Panthers to a 24-22 win over the Philadelphia Stars in the USFL’s first championship game.

1983 – Tom Watson wins his second straight and fifth career title at the British Open. Watson shoots a 9-under 275 at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England, to finish one shot ahead of Andy Bean and Hale Irwin.

1990 – Minnesota becomes the first team in major league history to hit two triple plays in one game, but it’s not enough to beat Boston as the Red Sox beat the Twins 1-0.

1994 – Brazil win a record fourth FIFA World Cup title, winning the first shootout in league game history against Italy.

2005 – Tiger Woods records another ruthless performance at St. Andrews, closing with a 2 under 70 to win the British Open for his 10th career major. He wins by five strokes, the biggest margin of any major since Woods won by eight at St. Andrews five years ago. He joins Jack Nicklaus as the only players to win a career Grand Slam twice.

2006 — Stacey Nuveman and Lovieanne Jung each homered to propel the United States to the Softball World Cup title with a 5-2 win over Japan.

2011 — Japan stun USA in a thrilling Women’s World Cup final, winning 3-1 on penalties after coming from behind twice in a 2-2 draw. Goalkeeper Ayumi Kaihori makes two great saves in the shootout. Japan, making their first appearance in the final of a major tournament, had not beaten the Americans in their first 25 meetings.

2011 – Darren Clarke gives Northern Ireland another major championship, winning the British Open by three strokes over Americans Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson.

2016 – Henrik Stenson shoots an 8-under 63 to beat Phil Mickelson by three strokes, becoming the first Swede to win the British Open.

Comments are closed.